Smell My Olive Pits

A blog dedicated to my love affair with all things food

Sago sweet soup April 12, 2009

Filed under: Chinese,Dessert — smop @ 1:58 pm

Dear Smop,

It’s been a long time.  I’m sorry that we haven’t had a chance to see each other lately.  I’ve been away, I’ve been busy, I haven’t cooked properly for quite some time. I know that’s not a very good excuse.  I admit that I was trying to avoid you because you are sometimes a bit high maintenance – you know how to get my attention, and when you have it, you seize it, hold on to it, and don’t let go of it until you feel completed.  But nonetheless, I like you a lot.  And I’ve missed you.  I miss greeting you every morning, checking on you, seeing whether anyone else has showered some love onto you, and making sure that you haven’t been disturbed by unwanted visitors.

I hope you understand.

So my peace offering to you is something sweet.

This is one of the first desserts I learnt.  Its simple, quick and delicious hot or cold.  You can add sweet potato, mango, mung beans, taro or anything you want really

Please accept, and please forgive me.  I promise that I will try to visit you more often now, and load you with more goodies.

Yours always,

Carmen

sago-sweet-soup

Sago tong shui

Ingredients

  • 100g sago
  • 150-175g rock sugar (personal preference)
  • 2.5 cups water
  • 1/2 cup evaporated milk
  • 3/4 cup coconut milk

Method

  1. Soak sago in boiling water for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally
  2. Drain the sago, then boil until it’s almost cooked, stirring occasionally.  While cooking, the sago will go from white to clear.  Take it off the heat when there’s only a small white dot in the sago, and drain while rinsing it under tap water – this will complete the cooking process and make the sago completely clear.   Set sago aside.
  3. Dissolve rock sugar in water, add the sago and stir until it boils.
  4. Remove from heat and stir in evaporated milk and coconut milk.  Serve hot or cold.

I sometimes add mung beans or yellow split peas to give it a bit more of a bite.  To do this, cook the beans or peas for about 15-20 minutes while the sago is soaking and then add it in Step (3).

 

One Response to “Sago sweet soup”

  1. Agnes Says:

    Oooh, I haven’t had sago tong shui in ages. Your post is making me crave it!


Leave a Reply

